V.S.O.P. #59 CD Choreo 2 CAROL LAWRENCE: THIS HEART OF MINE 7 22937 00592 6 $11.00



Produced by Jackie Mills and Tommy Wolf.
Engineer: Bones Howe
Cover Photo by Bob Willoughby
Cover design by Jay Rothman
Track 6, 7, 9, 11, arranged by Harry Betts;
Tracks 2, 4, 5, 8, 10, 12, arranged by Dick Hazard;
Tracks 1, 3 and 13, arranged by Harry Betts and Dick Hazard.



  • I Get Along Without You Very Well (Carmichael)
  • Tell Me Lies (Wolf,  Landesman)
  • This Heart of Mine (Fred, Warren)
  • The Year Turns' Round (Wolf, Landesman)
  • There's A Lull In My Life (Gordon, Revel)
  • I'm Gonna Wear Your Love (Schmidt, Jones)
  • I Wonder What's The Matter With Me (Gershwin, Heyward)
  • I Love You Porgy (Gershwin, Heyward)
  • Come Away With Me (Roy)
  • More Than You Know (Youmans, Eliescu, Rose)
  • So It's Spring (Wolf, Alnold)
  • Goodbye John (Wilder, Eager)
  • When The Sun Comes Out (Arlen, Koehler)


The second release on Choreo Records was recorded and released in 1962 and features the great Broadway singer/dancer, Carol Lawrence performing jazz arrangements and compositions with the Dick Hazard and Harry Betts studio orchestras. Composer/accompanist Tommy Wolf produced this and the other fine recordings on this label with ex-drummer Jackie Mills. The guiding concept at the core of many Ava/Choreo recordings is very much present on this one: Alec Wilder style compositions, performed with up to date jazz arrangements by all-star orchestras, featuring highly skilled, or jazz savvy vocalists. This release features all of these. Three Tommy Wolf and one Alec Wilder compositions are included. Carol Lawrence is an outstanding vocalist with a very engaging style. This is probably her jazziest recording ever. The repertoire chosen is classic in its genre. Great charts, good sound, fine vocals. A very nice recording.


Download: itunes.apple.com/us/album/this-heart-of-mine/id65615027



Other sources for CD: City Hall Records


Share on Facebook