STUDIO WEST #107 CD SUE RANEY: BREATHLESS! 7 22937 01072 2 $13.00



With The Page Cavanaugh Quartet, The Page Seven, Shelly Manne & His Men, and The Buddy De Franco/Tommy Gumina Quintet.


Selections 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 16, 17 feature the Page Cavanaugh Quartet and were recorded in 1960-61.
Selections 1 and 9 feature the Page 7 (Page Cavanaugh Septet) and were recorded in 1960-61.
Selections 11, 12, and 18 feature the Buddy De Franco/Tommy Gumina Quartet and were recorded in 1963.
Selections 6, 13, 14 and 15 feature Shelly Manne and His Men and were recorded in 1969 or 1970.

Recorded at United Recorders, Hollywood, CA
Session Producer: Vil Vohler, Programs, Inc.
Album Producer: M.A.C./V.S.O.P. , INC.
Mastering: Jamie McComber
Liner Notes: Scott Yanow
Cover & Liner Photos, courtesy of Sue Raney.



  • Angel Eyes (Brent, Dennis)
  • There'll Be Some Changes Made (Higgins, Overstreet)
  • Breezin' Along With The Breeze (Gillespie, Simons, Whiting)
  • My Lucky Day (DeSylva, Brown, Henderson)
  • Deed I Do (Hirsch, Rose)
  • Their Hearts Were Full Of Spring (Bobby Troup)
  • It's D'Lovely (Cole Porter)
  • September In The Rain (Dubin, Warren)
  • I'm In Love With The Honorable Mr. So And So (Sam Coslow)
  • Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams (Koehler, Moll)
  • Does Anybody Here Love Me? (Billy Barnes)
  • The Boy Next Door (Martin, Blane)
  • Breathless (Dick, Kresa, Lewis)
  • Holiday For Strings (Gallop, Rose)
  • Bluesette (Bimbel, Thielemans)
  • Cry Me A River (Arthur Hamilton)
  • While We're Young (Wilder, Engvick)
  • Some Of These Days (Shelton Brooks)


This compact disc features 18 selections recorded by Sue Raney during the early to late 1960's in the company of Shelly Manne, Buddy De Franco and Page Cavanaugh, in various groups and at various times. Sue Raney's voice and phrasing is captivating. She is a singer's singer with all of the technique and subtlety anyone could wish for. This compact disc features both master and alternate takes and is some of the best material released on Studio West to date.

Download: iTunes



Other sources for CD: Amazon

                                 City Hall Records


Share on Facebook