V.S.O.P. #105 CD THE PETE JOLLY TRIO: TIMELESS 7 22937 21052 8 $13.00

Pete Jolly (piano), Chuck Berghofer (bass); Nick Ceroli (drums).


  • Recorded July 12, 19, 25 & 26 at Donte's in Los Angeles, CA.
  • Session Engineer: George Jerman;
  • Mastering: Joe Sidore ;
  • Liner Notes: Whitey Mitchell;
  • Cover & Liner Photos: William Claxton and Stan Levey



  • Milestones (Miles Davis) 11:53
  • Tea For Two (Caesar, Youmans) 4:40
  • That Old Devil Moon (Harburg, Lane) 12:35
  • Don't Worry About Me (Koehler, Bloom) 10:12
  • Stars And Stripes Forever (John Philip Sousa) 7:25
  • I Should Care (Cahn, Stordahl, Weston) 7:02
  • Hey Jude (Lennon, Mccartney) 9:13

Pete Jolly has been one of the most active and talented pianists working in Los Angeles for the past 40 years. This version of the trio is a little different than Pete's regular trio as it features Nick Ceroli on drums. Recorded at Donte's by George Jerman in July of 1969, this fine program is another of the great live sets captured by George during the mid to late 1960's.At the time that these recordings were made, Pete was working on one of his A&M recordings, "Give A Damn". That album was assembled from similar live recordings made by George Jerman, with overdubs added in the studio at a later date. As in his other recordings, Pete Jolly's playing is energetic and inventive; the trio is well rehearsed and tight. This album is dedicated to the memory of George Jerman, and to the memory of Nick Ceroli. It is an excellent album that will thoroughly satisfy all Pete Jolly and jazz piano fans.


Download: itunes.apple.com/us/album/timeless/id65681930



Other sources for CD: Amazon

                                City Hall Records

Share on Facebook